So excited and there is NO HIDING IT

When 100 people told me that deployments fly by, I didn’t believe them. Not a single one of them. But now we’re sitting here and I have only 6 more opportunities to get a class in at the gym before I take off to greet that gorgeous man I get to call my husband off the plane! How?!? My mind cannot even begin to comprehend that we’re are this close to finishing a whole deployment. It’s unreal.

I’m a complete basket case, however. I wish I could say that I was cool, calm, and collected. Not at all. My emotions are ALL OVER THE PLACE. I know. Most of you aren’t surprised.

Some of my favorite people have already been reunited with their husbands or are going to be very very soon. Just seeing their pictures… I ugly cry. I’m so incredibly happy for everyone. I can’t yet imagine what that initial feeling is going to be like. When I touch him for the first time since December 1st of last year. But judging by these pictures, seeing their faces, I don’t think there are going to be words to go along with the feelings. I don’t think words exist for that.

We did it. My girlfriends and I got through our first deployment. Some of us moved away, some of us stayed put. We got jobs. We met fitness goals. We had babies. We took on a temporary position of single parenting. We killed our own bugs. We laughed and cried together. We prayed for each other, especially when things were really hard or uncertain. (And there are a few that still have a few more months to wait it out. I’m thinking about y’all and praying for your continued strength. It’ll come. You’re almost done!!)

And my husband? My level of respect and admiration for him has gone up x 100. For the bravery, strength, and commitment he has shown. For the sacrifices he has made for his country. I’m beyond excited to have my hero home again with his family. I can’t wait to see him step off of that plane. To have that first hug and kiss. To experience all of the simple things couples experience again. To hold his hand. To talk to him without having to type it. (I’m so sick of typing). To make him a meal. To see him reunited with Andrew and introduce him to his youngest son. To have a cup of coffee together. To be able to call him anytime I want. To see his handsome smile and hear his goofy laugh that always makes me laugh instantaneously. I just can’t wait to have my best friend back. To always have someone to talk to that gets me. I think I’ll pinch him 50 times to make sure he’s really standing in front of me.

We’re so close. So so close, but time is not quite moving fast enough. August, you can be over now!

3 thoughts on “So excited and there is NO HIDING IT

  1. I’m so happy for you! There are absolutely no words to describe how special it is to have them home. Pictures, must have pictures. 🙂

  2. I am so happy for you! You will never forget that moment you see him again. It’s amazing, I still relive our 2 previous homecomings all the time.

  3. Amen! Amen! Amen!

Leave a Reply

