Home

I’m back in El Paso waiting for a very special someone to get here, and besides missing my kids so much it very literally hurts, I’m enjoying every second of it.

Since the moment Trey joined the Army, I’ve always sworn that South Carolina would always be home. I’d go. I’d follow him anywhere, but at the end of the day, home was where my heart was. Unfortunately, half of my heart stayed back in SC. But not the real SC. An memory of what SC used to be for me. I can’t really be blamed. It’s a beautiful place. Sweet accents, beautiful beaches, my family, friends, palmetto trees, boiled peanuts, the place I married my best friend, it’s green, it was home.

So imagine my surprise, when I stepped off the plane yesterday, and I felt more whole than I have since I left El Paso last December. My heart swelled and I felt.. you guessed it.. HOME. Like I could fully breath again. But wait.. this is El Paso. It’s the desert. There are no beaches, no trees, it’s in the middle of nowhere on the boarder of Juarez, Mexico. Never in my life did I imagine I’d call this place home! But there’s something to be said for this little corner of the country. It’s more than just a location.

This is/was our first “permanent” duty station. The first place we came to “settle” after Trey was done with all of his training. I came here as a 27 year old, petrified, very new Army wife. Just my husband, myself and my 6 month pregnant belly. We found a little home here and found our way in a place that was completely foreign to us. We had our first baby here and watched him fight for his life. We moved from that home to our fist home on post and discovered how wonderful it was to feel that tight knit Army community life. I made some of the best friends I’ve ever had. We watched our son learn how to crawl, walk and talk. I had a miscarriage and than got pregnant with our second/last boy. I watched as my husband prepare for his first deployment and went through that with these friends that I had made. We went through that together as all of their husbands left as well.

I’ve missed it so much, and I didn’t even fully realize it. I love it here. I love the mountains. I love the openness. I love the breeze. I love all the history of Ft. Bliss. I love the Army community. But mostly, it’s just the memories. And I’m about to add the sweetest memory of all to this place. Welcoming my husband home. Ft. Bliss will always hold such as special place in my heart.

But I think I finally, truly grasp the saying, “home is where your heart is”. I thought I already got it, but I didn’t. South Carolina will always be a significant place. Our extended families will always be there.. I think. But, at cliche as it is, it’s very clear to me that our home will always be wherever the Army sends us. Wherever MY family is together. I know we’ll have memories like this wherever it is that we move to. We’ll have memories like this from places all over the country. And I think that’s pretty cool. At the end of this long adventure, I hope we can look back with this kind of nostalgia at every place we’re sent. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for us!

One thought on “Home

  1. Oh wheeeeeee!!! I am so happy that you’re getting so close to the end! Please PLEASE post some homecoming pics to IG. Can’t wait for your homecoming and for your family to be back together again. xo

Leave a Reply

