Oh hey.. MY HUSBAND IS HOME

So there was this one time, where a big significant life moment happened, and ME.. THE BLOGGER.. I forgot to blog about it.

Hey guys, guess what? My husband is home! He’s home. He’s safe. He was in my arms for about 5 seconds and now we’re separated again. But the important thing is that he’s home. I can call him whenever I want. We no longer depend on getting each others emails whenever the other person wakes up. I no longer have to worry about him. He’s home.

Unfortunately, he had to stay in Texas to do all of that out processing stuff. And I had these two cute kids that I had to come home to and take care of.

Image

We only have a week left. He’ll be here a week from today (I’m counting the minutes!) and he will finally, FINALLY be reunited with Andrew and meet Wesley. Our reunion was magical.. it was everything I hoped for and by far a top 3 moment in my life. But this.. him seeing these boys… it’ll be indescribable. But I’ll talk about that more after it actually happens. On to the goodies…

I got to El Paso way earlier than I needed to. But you know how Army timelines work (they never know what the hell is going on for those of you that have no experience dealing with such things. Times and dates change 546521687 times) and I had paid one nice little fee of $200 to change my flight once already, so once I had that second flight I was kind of stuck in it. Long story short, I flew in on a Friday, he got in late Tuesday night (as in damn near Wednesday) and I left Thursday.

I spend the majority of the day Tuesday in a state that I can best describe as dazed and confused. I wondered aimlessly, thankfully running into a few sweet girls to distract me in the morning, having lunch with a friend, and then spending the afternoon with my wonderful friend who, to my great benefit, just so happens to be an amazing photographer (Jaci) and Ashley.  I basically spent a lot of time pacing, cracking my knuckles, and squealing.

But at last, it was time to go. Of course, it had been pouring for days. Because only at the time that I need beautiful, clear weather will it be flooding in the desert. But I digress. I got all gussied up and we headed out to the field. We sat and sat.. and sat for what I’m sure was a good bit of time, but it really didn’t feel that long. That part is a little hazy. I feel like it flew by. Before I knew it, we were being ushered outside, all with electrified anticipation. We waited a few more minutes, but then I heard the sweetest sound. I couldn’t see the plane because it was so hazy and foggy, but I sure heard that engine. (This only intensified my love for planes and airports btw). Image

Oh the excitement.. I can’t begin to put it into words. The slow, built-up drama of it all. The plane slowly drives up. The band marches out and plays a song before anyone can get off the plane. Then finally they walk off one by one. Imagine what it felt like to be them. To step off of that plane and touch American soil for the first time in 9-10 months. To know that your loved ones are there waiting for you and you can hear them cheering. Ughhh.. I love it.

Image

I saw him walk by, finally, but couldn’t go to him quite yet. They have to go into the arms room to turn in all their weapons. Which takes roughly a year. So that’s torturous. Because we are just waiting again. And waiting and waiting. Okay so a year is a little bit of an exaggeration, but it really was like an hour I think. I don’t know…. I can’t be trusted with time frames.

At last, they came out, stood in formation, got a big Welcome Home and were told that they were released to their families. He had to find me. I couldn’t move, per strict orders of my lovely photographer 🙂 But he did end up finding me

Image

Look at that handsome man! Good Lord I missed that face!

Image

Image

And THAT my friends.. that is the moment I’ve been waiting for for 10 months. And for him… I’d do it over and over again if I had to for the rest of my life. Only for him. Now bring your rear end home and help me with these kids before I end up in the loony bin 🙂

2 thoughts on “Oh hey.. MY HUSBAND IS HOME

  1. Oh my! How sweet! I’m sooooo happy for you. Congrats… you did it!

  2. Oh my GOD woman. You made me cry. That last picture. Ugh! I am so SO HAPPY that he’s home. Can’t wait for y’all to be together again. You rocked this deployment!!

Leave a Reply

