Trusting

Now that Trey is getting ready to start the Career Course, a frequent topic of conversation in our home is choosing our next duty station. For those of you that aren’t familiar, let me fill you in on a fun little game we like to play in the Army. Once you are finishing up at one location, The Army says, “hey.. buddy.. where would YOU like to go? If you could choose any place in the world YOU’D like to be sent to, where would that be? You know what? How about you really start dreaming and tell us your top THREE choices!!” So you sit down as a family and start dreaming of your favorite places possible. If you’re new at all of this, you get excited. You may foolishly even start planning. You maybe would like to go to places like Hawaii, or Colorado (or if you’re like me, you’re dying to get to Washington.. the state), or maybe you’d like to get as close as possible to your hometown. But wait! Wait… the powers that be are sitting at their desks, looking at your choices and laughing as they write your soldier’s orders up for places like Korea or Fort Huachuca or Fort Irwin! (In all fairness, I want to believe that they want to work with you. But really.. when it comes down to it.. they’re going to send you to wherever there is a need for you)

Anyways.. all that to say.. we’ve been coming up with our duty station list. I know we just got here, but the career course is only a 6 month stint, so theoretically, we won’t be staying long.

Unless staying makes in on our list. Which it’s very possible that Sill will go on our list. Maybe even as our number one slot. Trey wants to stay. I wouldn’t mind staying. We throw around the pros and cons. A big fat pro would be that we don’t have to do the moving dance all over again in May. (not quite as much fun with the kiddos). A con, for me, would be that I’m staying here. I like it here, but I was under the impression that I was going to get to see the world when Trey signed up. Not just Oklahoma and Texas! He names places like Hood (again, get me out of Texas!) and Riley (in the middle of absolutely nowhere). I want to go to places like Lewis (hello west coast and Seattle) or Carson (Colorado mountains.. yes please!). We go through this dance of discussions and we always end up frustrated because he’s looking at stations that will benefit his career and the route he wants to take it and I’m really just looking at the location and how it will benefit me, to be honest.

Then I went to PWOC this morning. This week we’ve been studying the story of Ruth. I won’t go over the whole story, but one verse that really pressed on my heart all week was Ruth 1:16. “But Ruth replied, Don’t urge me to abandon you, to turn my back from following after you. Wherever you go, I will go; and wherever you stay, I will stay. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God.” And just today, after another duty station conversation yesterday, did it jump out to me as to why.

That was during class. After the first half we get together for a little worship. We sang a song with these lines,

“You and me, me and you Where you go, I’ll go too. I’m with you. I’m with you. Until your heart finds a home, I won’t let you be alone…” Okay God, Okay. I get the message.. haha!

I came home and made a deal with Trey. I let him know that our top three was completely his decision. I let him know that I fully trusted him to make the best choice for our family, and I won’t complain or sulk about any place he chooses to list. There was only once condition. I made him promise to pray about it every day. See, while my faith is strong, I’m nowhere near a perfect Christian. I know that no one is. What I mean by that, is that it isn’t yet second nature for me to pray about things. I have to constantly strive to remember to trust everything to God. I’m not as disciplined as I’d like to be. But obviously, God is working in me. I see it more and more every day. I’m seeing more and more all the time that where I am in life is never a mistake. Never a coincidence. All of that to say, it wasn’t a given to me that we would pray about this situation. I wanted us to make the conscience decision to do so.

So that’s our plan. Prayer. Faith that God will lead us to where we need to be as a family. And I feel good about it. I’m not worried about it anymore.. or concerned whatsoever. I have complete trust in Trey and our God. And that, my friends, is freeing. A weight off my shoulders.

3 thoughts on “Trusting

  1. Wishing you guys the best of luck when it comes time to choose (I’m partial to WA 😉 I’m sure wherever you end up, you will find the good in that new place!

  2. Don’t hate on Korea! lol It’s awesome here! Especially with kids. 🙂 Now the getting-here part was a total pain in the donkey- I won’t lie to you there. But we seem to be in the minority here as far as horrific journeys across the ocean. (Yay us…. our good luck streak continues… not) I’m so excited to see where y’all end up. 🙂

  3. I’m curious what his slate will look like. He should get a list of all the positions open and then you will have to rank them 1-20. It’s crazy!! Unless each CCC is different that’s how it should go, then when the rep from branch comes down they will go through it with him and mark out anything they won’t want to send him too. It’s a crazy process for sure.

Leave a Reply

